Yin Yoga Sequence for Grief: Nurturing Healing Through Stillness and Surrender


Grieving is a deeply personal and challenging experience that affects every aspect of our being—physical, emotional, and spiritual. While there is no one-size-fits-all approach to healing, incorporating holistic practices such as yoga can offer profound support during times of grief. Yin yoga, with its emphasis on long-held, passive poses, provides a gentle and introspective space to navigate the complex emotions associated with loss. In this article, we’ll explore a yin yoga sequence designed to help individuals process grief, fostering a sense of inner peace and acceptance.

(1) Child’s Pose (Balasana)

Begin your yin yoga sequence with Child’s Pose. Kneel on the mat, toes together, knees apart, and extend your arms forward, lowering your chest towards the floor. Rest your forehead on the mat and allow your body to surrender to gravity. Focus on your breath, inhaling deeply to expand your ribcage, and exhaling slowly to release tension. Child’s Pose gently opens the hips and offers a comforting stretch for the back, providing a sense of security and grounding.

Hold for 3-5 minutes.

(2) Butterfly Pose (Baddha Konasana)

Transition into Butterfly Pose to release tension in the hips and inner thighs. Sit on the mat, bringing the soles of your feet together and allowing your knees to fall outward. With a straight spine, hinge forward from your hips, bringing your chest towards your feet. Use props like blankets or blocks to support your forehead if needed. As you surrender into the pose, reflect on the concept of letting go and embracing change.

Hold for 4-6 minutes.

(3) Supported Heart Opener

Place a bolster or folded blankets lengthwise along your mat. Sit with your sacrum against the support, then recline over the bolster, allowing your spine to gently arch backward. This supported heart opener encourages a sense of vulnerability and openness, fostering emotional release. Focus on deep diaphragmatic breathing to expand the chest and create space around the heart center.

Hold for 5-7 minutes.

(4) Melting Heart Pose (Anahatasana)

From the previous pose, transition into Melting Heart Pose. Come to a tabletop position, walk your hands forward, and lower your chest towards the mat while keeping your hips high. This pose targets the chest, shoulders, and upper back, providing a gentle stretch to release stored emotions. Allow the pose to symbolize the act of surrendering to the grieving process.

Hold for 3-5 minutes.

(5) Supported Reclining Twist:

Lie on your back and draw your knees towards your chest. Shift your hips slightly to the right and let your knees fall to the left, creating a gentle twist. Place a bolster or folded blankets under your knees for support. This restorative twist helps release tension in the spine and encourages a sense of surrender to the natural flow of life. Repeat on the other side.

Hold for 4-6 minutes on each side.


Grief is a journey that requires patience, self-compassion, and the acknowledgment of its ebb and flow. This yin yoga sequence offers a gentle, nurturing space for individuals navigating the complexities of loss. By embracing stillness, breath, and surrender, practitioners can cultivate resilience, acceptance, and a renewed sense of connection to their inner selves. Remember that healing is a unique and ongoing process, and these poses can serve as tools to support you on your path to recovery.

Also Read: Yin Yoga Sequence Using the Wall: Deepen Your Practice with Wall-Assisted Poses

Frequently Asked Questions and Their Answers

(1) Is yin yoga good for grief?

Yes, Yin Yoga can be profoundly beneficial for grief. This gentle and introspective practice involves holding passive poses for extended periods, promoting deep relaxation and emotional release. The slow, meditative nature of Yin Yoga allows individuals to connect with their emotions, fostering self-awareness and acceptance during the grieving process. The long-held postures gently target connective tissues, promoting physical release and easing tension. This meditative practice encourages mindfulness and presence, providing a supportive space for individuals to navigate complex emotions. By incorporating Yin Yoga into a grief healing journey, practitioners may find solace, increased emotional resilience, and a sense of inner peace as they move through the various stages of grief.

(2) What yoga is best for grief?

Yin Yoga stands out as an excellent choice for grief. Its slow-paced, meditative approach involves holding poses for extended periods, fostering emotional release and self-reflection. The gentle stretches target deep connective tissues, promoting physical and emotional healing. Additionally, Restorative Yoga offers a nurturing space for grief, using supported poses to induce relaxation and alleviate stress. These practices encourage mindfulness, allowing individuals to navigate their grief with increased self-awareness and compassion. Ultimately, the best yoga for grief is one that aligns with personal preferences and resonates on an emotional level, providing a supportive outlet for processing and healing during the challenging journey of grief.

(3) Which pranayama is best for grief?

In the realm of pranayama, or breath control, Nadi Shodhana, commonly known as Alternate Nostril Breathing, is particularly beneficial for managing grief. This technique involves alternating the breath between the left and right nostrils, promoting balance and calming the nervous system. Nadi Shodhana helps regulate emotions and reduce stress, providing a grounding effect during times of grief. The rhythmic flow of breath in this pranayama encourages mental clarity and emotional stability, fostering a sense of inner peace. Integrating Nadi Shodhana into a regular yoga or mindfulness practice can serve as a valuable tool for individuals navigating the complexities of grief, offering a mindful approach to healing the body and mind.

(4) What is the Hindu mantra for grief?

The Hindu mantra “Om Shanti Shanti Shanti” holds profound significance in addressing grief. Translated, “Shanti” means peace, and the repetition of this mantra invokes a deep sense of tranquility on three levels—physical, mental, and spiritual. Chanting “Om Shanti Shanti Shanti” is a meditative practice that seeks to bring inner calm and healing to the grieving heart. It serves as a powerful reminder of the universal quest for peace amid life’s inevitable challenges, offering solace and a connection to the spiritual realm. Embraced in Hindu philosophy, this mantra transcends religious boundaries, making it a universal and soothing invocation for those seeking comfort and serenity in the face of grief.

Also Read:
Yin Yoga Sequence for Thanksgiving: Cultivating Gratitude and Relaxation
Yin Yoga Sequence Without Props: A Tranquil Journey of Deep Relaxation
Prenatal Yin Yoga Sequence: A Gentle Practice for Expecting Mothers
Yin Yoga Sequence for the New Year: A Fresh Start for Mind and Body
Basic Yin Yoga Sequence: A Gentle Introduction to Yin Yoga