Balancing Breath: Yin Yoga Sequence for Lung Meridian Harmony


In the ancient practice of Chinese medicine, the concept of meridians plays a crucial role in understanding the flow of vital energy, or Qi, throughout the body. Each meridian is associated with specific organs and has unique characteristics. The Lung Meridian, in particular, is responsible for the regulation of breath and the flow of Qi associated with respiration. Incorporating Yin Yoga into your routine can help balance and nourish the Lung Meridian, promoting overall well-being. In this article, we’ll explore a Yin Yoga sequence designed to enhance the health of your lungs and foster a sense of deep relaxation.

Yin Yoga and the Lung Meridian

Yin Yoga is a slow-paced, meditative style that involves holding poses for an extended period, typically three to five minutes or more. This allows for a deep stretch of connective tissues and stimulates the flow of Qi through the meridians. The Lung Meridian, running through the arms and chest, is associated with qualities such as inspiration, openness, and vitality.


(1) Child’s Pose (Anahatasana)

  • Start in a kneeling position with your big toes touching and knees wide apart.
  • Extend your arms forward and lower your chest towards the mat, resting your forehead on the ground.
  • Breathe deeply, focusing on expanding the ribcage and feeling the stretch in your arms and upper back.
  • Hold for 3-5 minutes.

(2) Dragon Pose (Yin Variation)

  • From a tabletop position, step your right foot forward between your hands.
  • Lower your left knee to the ground and slide it back a few inches.
  • Sink your hips down and forward, feeling a stretch in the front of the left hip and thigh.
  • Place your hands on the mat or use props for support.
  • Hold for 3-5 minutes on each side.

(3) Sphinx Pose

  • Lie on your stomach with your legs extended behind you.
  • Place your forearms on the mat, elbows under your shoulders.
  • Lift your chest and gaze forward, opening the front of your chest.
  • Focus on deep diaphragmatic breathing, expanding the lungs with each inhale.
  • Hold for 3-5 minutes.

(4) Melting Heart Pose (Anahatasana Variation)

  • From Sphinx Pose, walk your hands forward, lowering your chest towards the mat.
  • Keep your hips over your knees and extend your arms forward.
  • Feel the stretch in your chest and the front of your shoulders.
  • Hold for 3-5 minutes.

(5) Reclining Butterfly Pose (Supta Baddha Konasana)

  • Lie on your back and bring the soles of your feet together, allowing your knees to fall open.
  • Place your hands on your belly or let your arms rest by your sides.
  • Focus on the rise and fall of your breath, allowing your chest to expand with each inhale.
  • Hold for 5-7 minutes.


By dedicating time to this Yin Yoga sequence, you can enhance the health of your Lung Meridian and promote a harmonious flow of Qi throughout your body. Regular practice of these poses will not only improve respiratory function but also bring a sense of calm and balance to your overall well-being. Remember to listen to your body, breathe mindfully, and enjoy the nourishing effects of this Yin Yoga sequence for the Lung Meridian.

Also Read: Yin Yoga Sequence for Self Love: Nurturing Mind, Body, and Spirit

Frequently Asked Questions and Their Answers

(1) What is the sequence of breathing in yin yoga?

In Yin Yoga, the sequence of breathing plays a vital role in enhancing the depth of each pose and promoting relaxation. The breath in Yin Yoga is typically slow, deep, and mindful. Yogis often engage in diaphragmatic breathing, also known as belly breathing, to encourage a more profound release. The sequence involves inhaling slowly through the nose, allowing the breath to fill the lower belly, and then exhaling gently through the mouth. This deliberate and conscious breathing pattern helps stimulate the parasympathetic nervous system, promoting a sense of calmness and allowing the body to surrender into each yin pose. The focus on breath in Yin Yoga not only enhances the physical benefits but also fosters a meditative and introspective experience on the mat.

(2) What are the meridian points for yin yoga?

In Yin Yoga, practitioners focus on stimulating specific meridian points, channels through which vital energy or Qi flows in traditional Chinese medicine. Some key meridian points commonly targeted in Yin Yoga include the kidney, liver, spleen, and gallbladder meridians. Poses are designed to apply gentle pressure and stretch to these points, promoting the free flow of energy throughout the body. For example, poses like Dragon Pose and Child’s Pose can activate the kidney meridian, while Sphinx Pose and Seal Pose may target the kidney and liver meridians. By targeting these meridian points, Yin Yoga aims to balance the body’s energy, enhance organ function, and encourage overall well-being through the release of stagnation and tension along these energetic pathways.

(3) Is the lung meridian Yin or Yang?

In the context of traditional Chinese medicine and Yin-Yang theory, the lung meridian is considered a Yin meridian. Yin energy is associated with qualities such as receptivity, cooling, and stillness. The lung meridian, part of the Metal element in the Five Elements theory, embodies these Yin characteristics. It governs the inhalation of breath and is connected to the regulation of Qi related to respiration. Yin yoga sequences designed for the lung meridian often involve long-held, passive stretches that target the upper body, promoting openness and vitality. By focusing on the Yin aspect, practitioners aim to harmonize the flow of energy and bring balance to the respiratory system, fostering a sense of calm and well-being.

Also Read:
Yin Yoga Sequence for Grief: Nurturing Healing Through Stillness and Surrender
Yin Yoga Sequence Using the Wall: Deepen Your Practice with Wall-Assisted Poses
Yin Yoga Sequence for Thanksgiving: Cultivating Gratitude and Relaxation
Yin Yoga Sequence Without Props: A Tranquil Journey of Deep Relaxation
Prenatal Yin Yoga Sequence: A Gentle Practice for Expecting Mothers